Award Winners

  • The Society for Research in Psychopathology presents four awards each year.

Joseph Zubin Award

The Society for Research in Psychopathology instituted an award given each Fall to one deserving individual for lifetime contributions to the understanding of psychopathology. The first award was given in 1987 to Dr. Joseph Zubin. In 1990, the organization’s annual award was officially named the Joseph Zubin Award. Listed below are the the most recent winners of the award.

  • 2017: 
  • Lee Anna Clark

Smadar Levin Award

The Smadar Levin Award was created to honor the memory of Smadar Levin, who left a lasting mark on psychopathology research before her untimely death. The award is given at the Annual Meeting each year to the graduate student(s) or other predoctoral individual(s) who makes the most outstanding poster presentation. Up to five other strong poster presentations receive SRP Travel Awards.

  • 2017:
  • Adam Culbreth, Washington University at St. Louis, Mentor: Deanna Barch
    Tierney McMahon, the University at Buffalo, SUNY, Mentor: Kristin Naragon-Gainey

    Travel Awards:
    Jeremy Harper, University of Minnesota, Mentor: William Iacono
    Emma Mumper, SUNY Stony Brook, Mentor: Dan Klein

Early Career Award

The Early Career Award was created to recognize exceptional young scholars in the field of psychopathology, who have shown considerable promise and productivity in the formative years of their career.

  • 2017:
  • Thomas Olino
    Temple University

John Neale Sustained Mentorship Award

The John Neale Sustained Mentorship Award was created to recognize an exceptional scholar in the field of psychopathology who has throughout his/her career demonstrated continuous dedication to mentoring students, post-docs, and faculty in the field.

  • 2017:
  • Michael F. Green
    University of California, Los Angeles

President’s Award

The SRP President’s Award was created to encourage and facilitate the participation of young scholars from diverse backgrounds and from groups that are traditionally underrepresented in the society to join the organization and to participate in and present at SRP’s annual convention.

  • 2017:
  • Elissa Hamlat, Temple University
    Jingwen Jin, Stony Brook University
    Amri Sabharwal, Stony Brook University

Award Winners Archive